To 2021

I opened the link to this blog after a long while but I didn’t realise how long it has been.

2 years! That’s pretty long and the past 3 posts was to recap the year and looking forward to the next. Made me wonder why I still keep this alive? To keep the memory on the web? I could just turn it off and *poof* disappear.

That is for a day which may or may not come. I actually came back here because I was wondering what my 2020 resolution was. Not surprisingly, I didn’t have one. Considering the circumstances we live in, I guess it’s just as well that I don’t have one. Hope everyone is coping well with 2020 and looking hopefully at 2021.

I’m not sure if I’m one for resolutions (Starting is fine, I just don’t follow through very well) but a conversation recently got me thinking.

It was about learning.

What have you learned this year my dear non-existent reader? Took me awhile to think what new skill I have gained. Maybe slight improvements in my baking and cooking skills? Maybe a slight step forward on an analytical tool? All these tiny steps but there was no… leap. Thinking about it now, could it be because there was no deliberate attempt to improve them but these skills just improved with practice? It wasn’t a “I want to improve my baking skills!” and I started to bake a whole bunch of baked goods over and over again. It was more “Ooo… this cake looks good, maybe I can try” then months later “ooo this one looks delicious!”.

Ok, back to the story. After that I wondered, should I have a resolution to learn something new in 2021? Should I maybe enhance something I already know? I mean, knowing multiple things but barely good at any of them is not really jack of all trades… more like jack of no trades.

So, I think I will have some resolutions but they don’t quite fit the “SMART” resolution criteria so I guess it won’t quite work as a resolution, anyway.

  1. To be focused – Cut the distractions
  2. Try to exercise at least once a week
  3. Learn and reduce time wasting activities (deliberately vague :D, maybe this can help reduce my procrastination?)

Feels like I’m setting up myself for failure haha anyway…

Happy 2021 everyone! Hope 2021 is better for everyone!

Leave a comment